The UWRA Commission is the body responsible for all national matters relating to the sport of Underwater Rugby in Australia.

In 2015, Underwater Rugby achieved official recognition as an (amateur) sport in Australia under the auspices of the Australian Sports Commission and our governing body the Australian Underwater Federation (AUF). In conjunction with clubs, we aim to promote, advance, foster and cultivate the game of underwater rugby, and provide access to social and competitive experiences throughout Australia for all people at all levels.


  • Promote and develop the sport of Underwater Rugby in Australia and surrounding Pacific region.
  • Become an active member of the World Underwater Rugby community by participating/attending seminars, training camps, tournaments and any other activities that are promoted by the International UW-Rugby community and open to other international UW-Rugby Commissions.
  • Promote and adhere to the rules and constitution of the AUF and CMAS UW-Rugby Commissions.
  • Provide Vision, Direction and Oversight to all affiliated clubs, universities, individuals and entities that partner with the UWRA in the promotion and development of Underwater Rugby in Australia and the surrounding region.
  • Partner/collaborate with all clubs, associations, universities, companies and individuals that have a common goal that is in the interest of the UWRA in the pursuit of our objects stated above.

The UWRA commitee is made up of executive members and delegates from each of the seven existing clubs in Australia.

In accordance with the UWRA by-laws, the executive members are elected every two years. These members form the UWRA executive committee, who, along with the club delegates, make decisions regarding the administration of the sport in Australia.



Nathan Miller


Sophie Lamande


Khazmira Bashah

chief referee

Carlos Ledezma

National Team Coach (Men)

Cansin Artun Ors

National Team Coach (Women)

Freydick Corrales Cruz

Club delegates

Adelaide White Pointers
Mustafa Amiruddeen

Brisbane Gauls
Nicholas Leahy

Canberra Underdogs
Aaron Hughes

Perth Raiders
Johann Dangin

Sydney Whales
Claire Rocuet

Tasmania Convicts
Lauren Reid

Victoria Seadragons
Jared Carnie

Contact UWRA

General enquiries

Media enquiries

UWRA Chairman

UWRA Coaching Team